Here are the Wireless WiFi standards that were introduced thru the years. Wireless platforms and standards of connectivity started way back since 1997 and has today improved in speed, range and compatibility with other devices.

2016 – IEEE 802.11ad, ah and af

This protocols have been finalized in 2016. 802.11ad uses a very high 60 GHz band whereas 802.11ah uses a low 900 MHz Band – fotr a lot of devices. 802.11af also uses television spectrum frequencies between 54 MHz and 216 MHz.

2013 – IEEE 802.11ac

Developed in 2003, this protocol also works on both 2.4 GHz and 5GHz Band. This protocol is compatible with 802.11b,b and n standards.

2009 – IEEE 802.11n

Introduced in 2009, this protocol works on both 2.4 GHz and 5GHz Band. This is the reason this protocol is compatible with 802.11a,b and g standards.

2003 – IEEE 802.11g

This protocol was developed in 2003 and works on 2.4 GHz. It’s compatible with 802.11g and 802.11n but incompatible with 802.11a

1999 – IEEE 802.11b

This protocol was also created in 1999. Unlike 802.11a, this protocol works only on 2.4 GHz. It’s compatible with 802.11a

1999 – IEEE 802.11a

This protocol was created in 1999 and works on 5GHz Band only. That’s why it can’t form a connection with 802.11g

1997 – IEEE 802.11 ” Legacy”

The first wireless standard ever created, in 1997. It is now aboandoned and also you won’t find any compatible device.